Equestrian Journey Blog Hop: What will you NOT do?

Equestrian Journey asks:

   “We all like to share on our blogs what we do with our horses and what we would like to do, but I want to know what you will NOT do.  For example I will not carry a bag of feed into the middle of a herd of horses, especially if I don’t know some of them.  I will not teach my horse to rear on purpose.  I will not ride my horse into a field full of loose horses that could kick me in the leg and break it.  Things like that.  I look forward to hearing what you have to share!”

This is a great Blog Hop, as usually we are always posting about the opposite!  While I am sure there are a lot of small things I will never do, such as enter a stall with a horse I don’t know and cross-tie a horse to their bridle, the biggest one for me is I will never do anything on a horse that I do not feel comfortable doing.

When I was younger and while riding on the Intercollegiate team in college I wasn’t as assertive as I am now and would ride horses that I was downright scared to be on, and do things that I felt very scared and uncomfortable doing on said horses.  This actually resulted in some (minor) injuries to me over the years.  I specifically recall actually being in tears on a horse I was afraid of, mostly because it was not safe or appropriate to be used for lessons, and the college coach yelling at me to jump the jump or canter or do whatever I didn’t want to do.  (this actually led to a huge confidence loss for me in my riding, but that is a whole other story entirely!)

At this point in my life, I am not out to prove anything, and if I feel unsafe on a horse I GET OFF IMMEDIATELY.  There have been days, when Mabou was first off the track, where he was acting up and leaping and I felt the situation escalating and I just got off and called it a day.  There is always tomorrow.

I also now have no trouble whatsoever saying “no” to my trainer if I really don’t feel comfortable doing something, where when I was younger I probably would have just done it anyway.

IMG_8139-0

3 thoughts on “Equestrian Journey Blog Hop: What will you NOT do?

Leave a Reply

