Controversy: Monica Thors Edition

I don’t normally get into controversial things like this, but over the past few weeks, between everything that I have read about on Facebook and on Chronicle of the Horse, I couldn’t help but follow along with the Monica Thors horse abuse saga.

There are also a few news reports on the topic.

For those who haven’t heard anything about it at all, apparently some woman owns several standardbred race horses, or standardbreds that used to race, which are all in deplorable condition, with their feet trimmed to almost nothing.  A few horses required slings hung from the ceiling to be able to stand up.  Many people have become aware of this situation and came together to get the animal control and ASPCA to act and remove these horses (and possibly cats) from this woman’s care.  I will not post any photos (because some are sickening) so those who wish to view them can click the links above.  From what I have read, they have begun taking the horses away from this woman.

Here is a great article on Horse Nation that really summarizes it all.

It breaks my heart that those poor horses suffered at the hands of that woman.  Although there are many people that take amazing care of their horses, there are still some out there who do not, and take advantage of the horse’s gentle gracious nature.  Although horses are 15-20 times the size of us, they are still generous enough to allow us to ride them.  I genuinely hope that things are able to turn around for these horses and they can have a better life for the rest of their days.

I for one cannot keep my mouth closed when I see a horse in person that I feel is being mistreated, is everyone else the same?

9 thoughts on “Controversy: Monica Thors Edition

  1. I’m trying to avoid the pictures, but the situation for these horses sounds horrendous, and I just read that two of the horses were in bad enough shape that euthanasia was the only humane option. I just don’t get how people can do these kinds of things! It is horribly disheartening.

    Like

  2. the whole story just makes me so sad. and it’s hard to be patient while the legal system does its thing (why does it take so long?)…. i just hope the remaining horses survive and can be rehabbed enough to enjoy some quality pasture living

    Like

  3. Thank you for not posting the pictures. I was just thinking about how I’m very bothered by seeing terrible abuse/death photos of animals on some people’s FB or Twitter feeds. I know it’s important to speak up and/or act on behalf of animals, but seeing the really heart-wrenching pics makes me want to put my head in the sand like an ostrich. I had not heard of this case, before. Thanks for helping me stay in the loop.

    Like

Leave a Reply

