Blop Hop: From the Horse’s Mouth

From the Horse’s Mouth asks:

What are a few horse-related things that you are super grateful for?

This is a great question, as it is always important to take a step back sometimes from the hustle and bustle and just be grateful!

  • First and foremost, my hubby, who is so supportive and doesn’t get mad when I spend all my money on my horse and horse-related things.  He also works hard which allows me to spend all my money on said horse and horse-related things.
  • Second, my horse Mabou.  After my mare Crystal (that I had since I was 11 until she passed when I was 25), I never thought that I would feel that relationship and trust with another horse again.  Although Mabou has his moments, and he can never replace my girl, I genuinely trust him and feel safe on his back.  He pushes me to be a better rider and pushes me out of my comfort zone sometimes, which is good for someone who can be a little bit of a chicken like myself.  He has such a great work ethic, and is always happy to try his best to do what I ask him to do.
  • Third- my new custom County saddle!  I LOVE IT!  It feels so “right”, I am so happy I took the plunge and bought exactly the one I want, the upgraded soft bull leather is so grippy and I would not change a single thing about it.
  • Fourth- my wonderful barn and trainer.  My trainer is so generous and genuinely cares about her students.  She always gives us great opportunities to go to fun events like hunter paces and horse shows, and never overcharges us for any of it.  After the death of my mare, in order to try to keep me riding, she even let me free lease Mabou for almost 6 months (knowing that he was a great match for me and I would end up falling in love with him).  All the people at my barn are absolutely wonderful, I can honestly say we do not have much drama.  We are a smaller barn of 30 boarders or so, and trainer is picky about who she lets board there, which makes for a really great environment.
  • Fifth- my parents, who supported and fostered this crazy horse hobby of mine my entire life until I could afford to do it myself, and who still come to almost all my horse shows and local horse events.
3 thoughts on “Blop Hop: From the Horse’s Mouth

Leave a Reply

