Lesson ReCap

First off- since it is officially fall I broke out the rust breeches today! So anyway, after the weekend’s disappointment, I had a great hack yesterday and decided to lesson today.

DSCN0124

We warmed up with some flatwork… .making sure that I got him moving with big elastic steps and trying to quiet my seat and sending him forward just using my legs, not posting bigger.  We did a lot of sitting trot and worked on me sitting up and back, as I like to lean forward a little too much sometimes!

Flatwork!
Flatwork!

DSCN0133 DSCN0134 DSCN0135DSCN0144

 

Then we did a very challenging jump exercise that had a single vertical jump on one side and a cavaletti pole on the other side.  We had to make an oval and jump the jump to the vertical.  It looked like this:

circle jumps

At first horsie kept landing on the wrong lead and then giving me beautiful changes, but after a few times he figured it out and landed correctly.

DSCN0162

 

We started small and really worked on the flatwork inbetween the jumps, making sure that I pushed him out on the circle with my inside leg, used my outside leg to keep his haunches from fishtailing out and kept my shoulders straight (which is hardest for me ugh)

DSCN0178

I also was using my outside rein a little too much to pull his outside shoulder around the circle, so trainer had me really exaggerate the separation of my hands and open my outside rein, which would prevent me from being able to pull back on it.  It made a huge difference and pony immediately softened.  Then trainer raised the fence and we kept going.

DSCN0183 DSCN0190 DSCN0195

 

The bigger height definitely helped to force him to rock back and balance himself.  Then trainer raised the fence again, and by this point I could feel he was getting tired, but he has so much heart he was a great boy and jumped super!

DSCN0198 DSCN0199 DSCN0201

 

What a great lesson, I really feel like he was so good and didn’t get annoyed that we were doing the same exercise for a while.  He was listening well, and I love him in the rubber pelham!  Rubber bits are our friends apparently!  I have lots of homework now and things to work on from trainer, which I like because it helps me structure my rides.  Afterward I rubbed him down with liniment and let him have a nice long graze.  It is supposed to rain tomorrow, so he will get a well deserved day off.  LOVE MY PONY!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

